Showing posts with label children. Show all posts
Showing posts with label children. Show all posts

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

A Modern Renaissance


Dreams can come true again; when everything old is new again. ~ Peter Allen

The golden age of entertainment has returned to the Kallet Theater in the village of Pulaski, N.Y. Fully restored and dressed in retro chic, the theatre rolls out the red carpet to welcome patrons back into its fold. Step back in time to enjoy a variety of programming, from films to fundraisers to live entertainment.

The restoration of the Kallet Theater, once the cornerstone attraction in the community, was near and dear to this writer, a native of the quaint little village. We had the opportunity to return home and explore this vibrant gem as it resumes its prominent position and marks its first anniversary.

A Scorched History
The history of this local landmark goes back more than a century. In October 1881, a major fire destroyed the entire business district of the village, from the Salmon River to the North Park and Broad Street. Dr. James N. Betts was said to have experienced the most significant losses, which inspired him to give back to the community by building the Betts Opera House in 1883.

Francis Hohman took over in 1908 and the venue became the Hohman Opera House; changed again to the Pulaski Opera House, and later to the Pulaski Theater when the facility made its transition to a movie house.

In 1924, the Pulaski Lodge International Order of Odd Fellows (IOOF) acquired the vacant lot next door and built the Temple Theater, launching a decade-long entertainment rivalry before the Hohman venue was destroyed by fire in January 1934.

Fire at Betts Opera House
photo courtesy of the Pulaski Historical Society

The following year, Myron J. “Mike” Kallet assumed the lease on the Temple Theater, re-modeling and re-opening it as the New Temple Theater, until it, too, succumbed to fire in January 1939.

Fire at Temple Theater
photo courtesy of the Pulaski Historical Society

By this time, Kallet had also acquired the rights to the neighboring Hohman property and began building a new theater on the two lots. Designed in art deco style by architect Milo Folley, the Kallet Theater opened on Wednesday, June 7, 1939 as a cinema and meeting house.

The Kallet Theater: Gala Opening
photo courtesy of the Pulaski Historical Society

The Kallet Theater circa 1940s
 photo courtesy of the Half-Shire Historical Society

The venue entertained residents of the village and its environs for nearly 50 years before closing its doors in the early 1980s. A variety of other businesses moved into the building before it finally went dark. Then, in 2011, local entrepreneurs Vince Lobdell and his son Vince Jr. acquired the dilapidated property and took on the monumental task of its restoration. With local, county and state grants to match their own contributions, the Lobdells completed a multi-million dollar upgrade to the theater and re-opened it to the public in November 2013 as a community and events center.

A New Beginning
photo courtesy of the Kallet Theater

A Modern Renaissance
The venue now features a stage with exquisitely carved woodwork; a state-of-the-art entertainment system; a retro lobby and concession stand with a modern twist; and a museum room dedicated to the preservation of the theater’s long history. Two barrel staircases lead to the second floor balconies and reception area which is highlighted by glass tile windows.

 
 
 



The building’s façade was restored to resemble its original design, including double red doors, a ticket book, old movie posters and an updated marquee; which now projects events and community information on a bright LED screen.


Overlooking the iconic Salmon River, the building now also features a rear deck to showcase these scenic views. With a seating capacity of over 400, the Kallet Theater is an excellent venue for events small and large; weddings and banquets; and, of course, movies and live entertainment.

Ring in the Holiday Season
Come to the Kallet Theater on Friday, December 5 for a one-of-a-kind experience as the SUNY Oswego Theater Department presents, “It’s A Wonderful Life: A Live Radio Play.” Enjoy this timeless classic in a whole new way; observing the production of a 1940s radio broadcast. Doors open at 7 p.m. and the show begins at 8 p.m. Admission is $15 for adults and $10 for seniors and students. For tickets, visit www.kallettheater.com.


Don’t miss these special events!
Throughout the month of December, enjoy these holiday movies with the whole family at the Kallet Theater, 4842 N. Jefferson St., Pulaski, N.Y.:

Sun., Dec. 7:
6 p.m. Elf

Sat., Dec. 13:
2 p.m. Elf; 5 p.m. The Muppet’s Christmas Carol; 7 p.m. The Nativity Story

Sun., Dec. 14:
2 p.m. The Muppet’s Christmas Carol; 5 p.m. The Santa Clause

Sat. Dec. 20:
11 a.m. The Santa Clause; 2 p.m. Miracle on 34th Street; 4 p.m. The Nativity Story

Sun. Dec. 21:
2 p.m. The Nativity Story; 5 p.m. Miracle on 34th Street; 8 p.m. The Santa Clause

Sat. Dec. 27:
2 and 5 p.m. How to Train Your Dragon

For more information about the Kallet Theater and its events schedule, call 315/298-0007 or visit www.kallettheater.com. For more holiday fun in Oswego County, go to our Web site at www.visitoswegocounty.com

Wising you and yours a happy and healthy holiday season!

Cheers,
Kelly

Friday, February 7, 2014

Snowshoeing in a Winter Wonderland…


 
Our latest adventure brought us to Rice Creek Field Station at SUNY Oswego. Located just off Thompson Road in Oswego, the facility is a hidden gem for students and the community to learn about and engage with the great outdoors that Oswego County is so well known for.

Rice Creek Field Station opened in 1966 on property that was once farmland. With nearly 400 acres of varied habitats that support diverse plant and wildlife, it includes open fields, shrub lands, streams and creeks. Visitors will also discover mature hardwood forests that were once part of a farm woodlot and abandoned orchards, stone walls and hedgerows from its earlier days as an agriculture site. When the facility was first developed, conifer plantations were introduced along with select European and Asian trees and shrubs. A 26-acre pond was also created by the construction of a dam on Rice Creek.

The history of the area can be traced back to the late 18th century when Asa and Elizabeth Rice settled with their family at the mouth of Rice Creek, then known as Three Mile Creek. Eventually, they moved upstream and other families joined them to establish a small farming community called Union Village, later renamed Fruit Valley.

The facility closed in 2012 for a major renovation project and was re-opened last fall. At more than 7,600 square feet, the new main building is double the size of its predecessor. It contains state-of-the-art wet and dry laboratories, a research lab and library, a lecture room and reception area, an observatory control room and administrative offices.

The renovation project included advances in green technology. It was built to be close to a net-zero carbon emissions structure and achieve LEED Gold Certification. The exterior has high-rated insulation and a sun-shade system to reduce energy consumption. Other features include advanced storm water retention basins, rain gardens, energy-efficient heating and cooling, light and motion sensitive lighting as well as a rooftop solar system that provides approximately 40 percent of the facility’s electricity.

True to its purpose as a living laboratory, the field station continues to maintain the Ruth Sachidanandan Herb Garden and an extensive trail network for people to learn about and enjoy nature first-hand. The grounds now also include the 16” telescope observatory which was relocated from the Romney Field House parking lot.

Here is a map overview of the property:


The four nature trails are open to the public and vary in length, terrain and habitat. All of the trails allow hiking, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing; however, only the Orange Trail also permits biking. As this is a wildlife study area, visitors are asked to stay on designated trails and not remove or disturb wildlife or vegetation. For the same reason, other outdoor activities such as camping, boating, swimming, hunting, trapping or fishing are not allowed on site and visitors are asked to carry out any trash they create or find.

We recently took advantage of the new snowfall and moderate temperatures to enjoy an afternoon snowshoe hike on the Blue Trail. Here is our adventure:









In addition to hosting student classes and research projects, Rice Creek Field Station also engages the community with a variety of nature programs throughout the year. “Exploring Nature” targets the natural curiosity of children. “Rice Creek Rambles” invites individuals and families to follow a naturalist-led walk through the property to learn about the environs. “Story Hour” introduces children and families to wildlife and the environment through stories. These programs are all free and open to the public. An adult must accompany children and space is limited, so programs cannot accommodate groups.

Don’t miss these upcoming programs at Rice Creek:

Rice Creek Rambles
February 8: Snowshoe Hike
March 8: Track Tales
March 22: Winter Weeds

Story Hour
February 22: “Owl Moon” by Jane Yolen and John Schoenher
March 29: “The Stranger” by Chris Van Allsburg

More Important Dates:
March 1: Deadline for “Exploring Nature” scholarship applications
               (go to www.oswego.edu/exploringnature for more information)
March 8: the river’s end bookstore hosts a book sale at Rice Creek
March 30: Ecology and Environmentalism Presentation

For more information about Rice Creek Field Station and its programs, trail maps and conditions, or to schedule a group tour, call 315/312-6677, e-mail diann.jackson@oswego.edu or go to www.oswego.edu/ricecreek.
 
For more ways to enjoy our winter wonderland, go to www.visitoswegocounty.com.

Cheers,
Kelly